facebook  twitter  linkedin  vimeo  flickrpink  youtube  WRAR on Instagram  WRAR on Google Plus

facebook  twitter  linkedin  vimeo  flickrpink  youtube  WRAR on Instagram  WRAR on Google Plus

Renters Facing Eviction in North Carolina May Be Eligible for Federal Help

RALEIGH, N.C. – North Carolina renters who face eviction or have been evicted from their

storm-damaged apartment complex—whether their unit had damage or not—may be eligible

for disaster assistance from FEMA.

There are several ways to apply for disaster assistance:

  • ·Go online to DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • ·Use the FEMA mobile app.
  • ·Call FEMA at 800-621-3362 (voice, 711 or VRS) or 800-462-7585 (TTY) anytime

from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. local time seven days a week. Multilingual operators are


  • ·Visit a Disaster Recovery Center. The centers serve as one-stop shops for survivors

who need one-on-one help. Survivors can visit any center for assistance. To find a

center, go to fema.gov/DRC.

Renters who had already registered for federal assistance and were later evicted due to damage

to other parts of their complex should take the eviction notice to a recovery center.

Displaced renters who need a safe place to stay while they look for longer-term housing may

be eligible for short-term hotel stays paid by FEMA under its Transitional Sheltering

Assistance program.

Renters may be eligible for grants from FEMA to help with disaster-related expenses, such as:

  • ·Renting a home when the renter’s previous one is unsafe to live in due to the disaster or

their apartment complex is under repair.

  • ·Disaster-related medical and dental expenses.
  • ·Child-care assistance.
  • ·Moving and storage fees.
  • ·Replacement or repair of necessary personal property lost or damaged in the disaster,

such as appliances and furniture, textbooks and computers used by students, and work

equipment or tools used by independent contractors.

  • ·Repair or replacement of vehicles damaged by the disaster.
  • ·Disaster-related funeral and burial expenses.

The grants are not loans and don’t have to be repaid. They are not taxable income and won’t

affect eligibility for Social Security, Medicaid, welfare assistance, Supplemental Nutrition

Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits and several other programs.

The federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Florence designated 28 counties for Individual

Assistance: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland,

Duplin, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Moore, New

Hanover, Onslow, PamlicoPender, Pitt, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland,

Wayne and Wilson.

FEMA wants to make sure that every disaster survivor has equal access to disaster information

and assistance. Renters who are deaf or hard of hearing may view a video on available

assistance. Watch it at youtube.com/watch?v=yAHSPK_K7tg.


FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during and after disasters.

For more information on North Carolina’s recovery from Hurricane Florence, visit

NCDPS.gov/NCEM and FEMA.gov/Disaster/4393. Follow us on Twitter:

@NCEmergency and @FEMARegion4.

All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race,

color, sex (including sexual harassment), religion, national origin, age, disability, limited

English proficiency, economic status, or retaliation. If you believe your civil rights are being

violated, call 800-621-3362 or 800-462-7585(TTY/TDD).

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical

and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for

an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to

SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or

replacement, and moving and storage expenses.